Highlights from the Musée Guimet, Paris.

http://www.guimet.fr/fr/

Image

Statue of Jayavarman VII, 12th Century, Khmer (Cambodia).

Image

Rina Banarjee Exhibition, “Take me, Take me…  to the Palace of Love” 2003

Image

Detail from a Japanese Screen (1733-1795) exhibited in 2008 at the “Peinture Japonaise au Musée Guimet”

Image

Hokusai (1760-1849)

Image

“Dakini” from Tibet, 18th Century.

Image

Bronze Buddha, Thailand. 8th Century.

Image

Ancient gold and turquoise earrings found in the burial site of a Bactrian nomad. Afghanistan. Circa 6th Century BC.

Image

Felix Regamay

Image

“Shiva Nataraja” (Lord of the Dance), Chola Period Bronze, c.10th Century. Tamil Nadu, India.

Image

Detail from a vase entitled: “A Thousand Flowers”.  Southern China, Qing Dynasty (1736-1795).

Image

Plate XIV. “Bamboos in Monochrome” WU CHÊN Yüan Period.

Image

“Women Playing a Game” Attributed to Hokusai or to his son, 1800-1805.

~ by bethiarose on April 12, 2012.

9 Responses to “Highlights from the Musée Guimet, Paris.”

  1. Absolute delights, I see that our taste had changed much since 1737
    🙂 who’d guess Qing dynasty paintings can look so modern, thank you xx

  2. Yan! Glad you like them… I’m going to see them in July. I think my taste is still stuck in 1737 🙂 xxx

  3. typo on the train! i meant ”not” changed since 1737 🙂

  4. 🙂 I thought that it was still very much your style, and for good reason! xxx

  5. The waves in the Hokusai piece is a wonderful example of Prussian Blue, the pigment Diesbach first synthesised in Berlin in the early 1700s. The ingredients list included bovine blood, since iron is the main component of the pigment. I love it!

  6. 🙂 I love your scientific approach to art Fabian. I’m a bit disappointed to find out that this painting isn’t vegetarian 🙂

  7. Hah! Other nice examples of Prussian blue is Mary’s shawl in the Entombment of Christ by Pieter van der Werff and in Monet’s Bathers at La Grenouillere.

    As it happens, I got to listen to Richard Ernst recently (he won the Chemistry Nobel Prize in the 90s) talking about pigment analysis in Tibetan paintings. With his prize money, he bought a characterisation instrument that he has in his house, and his main hobby is analysing Thangkas. Apparently, his house is full of them.

    http://www.rsc.org/chemistryworld/News/2010/July/13071002.asp

    By the way, I love your blog! How do you find the time though to keep it up?

  8. 🙂 This Richard Ernst sounds fascinating! What an eccentric. Thanks for the article Fabian, this is a whole side of art which I haven’t really explored but which seems so interesting. I don’t really have time to do the blog I suppose, I just procrastinate from what I should be doing!! I started it when I was living in Germany with lots of free time on my hands. I hope that your PhD is going well! I hear you are in America for a while!

  9. Hello! We are a publisher from Taiwan. We are interested in the photo of Statue of Jayavarman VII on your blog. If you are the photographer, we are wondering if you could grant us the rights to print this photo in our new book about Angkor art and one press release about the new book? Sorry I could not your email so I leave the message here and hope to hearing from you soon. I am Elaine Chen, my email is tychen@ylib.com. Thank you!!

Leave a Reply

 
